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More and more Californians are learning that solar energy is a viable and economical alternative
to ever-dwindling fossil fuel supplies. The sun is a safe, clean, and environmentally benign source of
energy, and California already has the technologies and the incentives to make solar energy
available at reasonable cost and little effort to homeowners.

Solar energy’s present uses for the home include water heating and space conditioning. It has
been demonstrated that solar domestic water heating systems in particular perform well
technically, and surveys indicate that people will readily buy—and often prefer—homes with solar
equipment. Furthermore, financing for solar systems is widely available; the leaders among banks
and savings and loan institutions are promoting and financing solar systems all throughout
“alifornia, for home improvements as well as new construction.

California homebuilders are among the most active promoters of solar energy for the home,
Several builders are already installing solar domestic water heaters as standard features in entire
developments, up to 300 homes at a time. Likewise, experienced installers and equipment dealers
all over the state are installing proven systems at reasonable prices.

California’s Solar Income Tax Credit

Governor Brown signed into law last year the most liberal state solar income tax credit in the
United States. The solar tax credit permits California homeowners and businesses to deduct up to
55% of the total cost of an installed solar system from the state income taxes they owe. Here are the
main features of the solar tax credit guidelines as defined by the California Energy Commission:

A. Eligible Systems

1. A solar energy system is any system which operates for the purpose of collecting,
distributing, and/or storing heat, cold, or electricity and which derives its primary energy
from the sun. Eligible systems include solar water heaters, solar space conditioning
systems, solar-assisted heat pumps, and certain energy conservation measures in
conjunction with the solar installations.

2. The taxpayer must own and control the premises at the time the system is installed. In the
case of new home construction, this means that the homebuilder must take the tax credit.
However, the time of final “installation” could probably be delayed so that the credit
could be “passed through” to the home buyer. (The Legislature is presently consideringa
specific provision to permit homebuilders to “pass through” the credit to the new-home
buyer.)

3. The system must be installed between January |, 1977 and December 31, 1980. Solar
energy systems must receive required building permits.

4. The tax credit must be claimed the year in which the system is installed, and the credit may
be carried forward until used up. The rax credit reduces tax liability directly; it is not a
deduction.

B.  Amount of Available Credit

. For any system (residential, commercial, industrial, etc.) whose purchase-plus-
installation costs are $6,000 or less, the amount of the available credit is 559 or $3,000,
whichever is less,

2. For any system whose purchasc-plus-installation costs excced $6,000 and which is
installed on other than single-family dwellings, the amount of the credit is 25% of the total
cost or $3,000, whichever is greater,

(Continued on Page 5)

CONTINUING
EDUCATION— !
Requirements WA

For Real Estate
License Rgne‘w'a_k e

Because of the amount of interest in this
subject, the Department of Real Estatc has
prepared this series of questions and answers.

Q. What is the basis for requiring the
continuing education?

A. Senate Bill 332, approved by the
Legislature in 1976, requires real estate
licensees to attend 45 clock hours of
Commissioner approved courses, seminars or
conferences each four-year period preceding
renewal of active licenses.

Q. When is the continuing education
requirement effective?

A. It is effective for real estate license
renewals on or after January 1, 1981.

Q. How does it affect me?

A. If your real estate license expires before
January [, 1981 and you renew it before that
date, you will not be affected until your next
four-year renewal.

Q. Can you give an example?

A. Suppose license expires:

12-1027 8 ey o Not affected
12-10-80 s sas Not affected
OISL0EBL coniiansinns sssimssemis Affected
06-10-81....... \Be. SR Affected

(Continued on Page 3)

Attention, Please

James L. Quillin, State Labor Commissioner, has
informed the Department of Real Estate that it is the
position of the Division of Labor Standards
Enforcement that for the purposes of workers'
compensation insurance coverage, real estate brokers
are employers of their salespersons, and must carry a
policy on them.

Il you have any questions regarding this
requirement, you should contact Department of
Industrial Relations, Division of Labor Standards
Enforcement, 455 Golden Gate Avenue, San
Francisco, California 94102, Telephone (415) 557-
3827,

Commissioner Quillin and his stafl have received
many inquiries from licensed real estate brokers
stating that they were not aware that coverage was
required. This assumption was based on their
mistaken beliel that they are not employers of
salespersons, according to Mr. Quillin,
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Disciplinary Action—January-March 1978

REB—Real estate broker

RREB—Restricted real estate broker
NOTE: A list of actions is not published in this Bulletin until the 30-da;

RES— Real estate salesperson

RRES—Restricted real estate salesperson

REO—Real estate officer
REC—Real estate corporation

riod allowed for court appeal has expired; or if an

€
appeal is taken on the disciplinary action stayed, until the stay is dissolve .gﬂhmnol persons to whom licenses are denied upon

application are not published,

“ Not previously published

FOR YOUR INFORMATION

The following are brief summaries of the numerical code sections listed after each
licensee’s name. The full context of the various sections is found in the Business and
Professions Code and the Regulations of the Real Estate Commissioner, both of
which are printed in the Real Estate Law book available for purchase from the
Department of Real Estate at $2.50 plus tax. Code sections summarized will vary
from issue to issue as they will correspond with the particular disciplinary listings.

Business and Professions Code

490 relationship of conviction to
licensed activity
10130 performing acts for which a

license is required without the
appropriate license

10137 unlawful payment of compensa-
tion
10143 failure Lo deliver contract or

receipt 1o prospective tenant
by rental agent

10145 trust fund handling

10148 retention and availability of real
estate broker records

10176(a) making any substantial mis-
representation

10176(¢) commingling trust funds

10176¢1) fraud or dishonest dealing in

licensed capacity

10177(a) procuring a real estate license by
misrepresentation or material
false statement

10177(b) conviction of crime

10177(d) violation of real estate law or
regulations

10177(0 conduct that would have
warranted denial of a license

1017%(g) negligence or incompetence as
licensee

10177(h) failure to supervise salespersons

10177() fraud or dishonest dealing not
in licensed capacity

10172.5 avil judgment based on licensed
acts

1olo failure to file notice of intention
to sell or-lease subdivision

1oi2 material change in subdivision

without notice

LICENSES REVOKED

Name

Address

Hache, Cesar Emilio (RES)

Okum, Arnold Harvey (REB) ..........

Hanich, Richard James (RES). .
Phillips, Willic Samuel (RES) ...
Johnson, Kenncth Melvin (RRES) .
Clark, James Harold (RES) ..
Hall, David Alan (RES)
Gee, Terry Allen (RES)........
Mehren, Clarence Grant (REB)
Dba—Columbia Realty Co.

Turner, Allen Jessc (RES) .............
Farley, Bruce Roland (REB) (REQ).....

Officer—Bruce Farley Corporation

Mingo, Danicl Joseph (RES)...........

McMillan, Alex (RES) ......
Simpson, Gale James (RES) ...
Eastman, Stephen Gary (RES) .
Gilano, Benedict Joseph (RES) .
Winslow, Jeanne Anne (RES) ..
Lind, Kenneth John (RES)...
Johnson, Edgar Lee (REB).
Lawrence, Barbara Theresa (RES)
Gressinger, James Ernest (RES) ..
Modracek, Robert Charles (REB).

Levitin, Manuel (REB)

22315 Fawnridge Dr., Palm Springs....
1800 N. Highland, Ste. 416, Hollywood .
2222 W, Garvey Ave., W. Covina......
Rte, 2, Box 245, Grifton, N. Carol
8911 Genoa Ave., Orangevale
8271 Acacia, Cypress....
8660 Cuyamaca St., Sante
3158 Caminito Quixote, San Diego ....
P.O. Box 1000, 420 N. Grand, Glendora

Box 3723, 2582 Palmira, S. Lake Tahoe
1521 Hotel Circle West, San Dicgo.....

P.O; Box 37 Bomita, ..cupnmnseasa
3733 Durfee Ave., El Monte .
4800 Marconi Ave., #216, Carmichael ..
P.O. Box 11183, Tahoe Paradise.......
27 Burning Tree Circle, Newport Beach,
1168 Belhaven, #B, Anaheim
23942 Carmel Dr., El Toro......
5028 S. Verdun Ave., Los Angeles .....
19845 Ventura Blvd., Woodland Hills .,
405 E. Van Burcn Dr., Monterey Park .
22651 Mariano St., Woodland Hills . ...
1775 41st Ave., San Francisco.........

11018.1 failure to give public report
11018.2 illegal subdivision sales (sales of
subdivision lots without public
report)
Regulations
2125 failure of broker to review
agreements
273 unauthorized use of fictitious
business name
2852.1 failure to file form of advanced
fee rental contract with
Department of Real Estate
2800 failure to notify Department of
Real Estate of material change
in subdivision
2832 improper handling of carnest
money deposit
Effective Vialation Business and Professions
date Code/Commissioner's Regulations
1/ 5/78 490, 10177(b)
1/11/78 490, 10177(b)
1/12/78 490, 10177(b)
1/17/78 490, 10177(b)
1/17/78 490, 10177(b)
1/19/78 490, 10177(b)
1/19/78 490, 10177(b)
1/19/78 490, 10177(b)
1/19/78 490, 10177(b)
1/26/78 490, 10177(b)
1/19/78 490, 10177(b)
1/31/78 490, 10177(b)
2/ 2/78 490, 10177(b)
2/14/78 10176(a)(i), 10177(j)
2/15/78 490, 10177(b)
2/15/78 490, 10177(a)b)
2/15/78 490, 10177(b)
2/15/78 490, 10177(a)(b)
2/15/718 490, 10177(b)
2/16/78 490, 10177(b)
2/16/78 490, 10177(b)
2/16/78 490, 10177(b
2/22/78 10137, 10176(a), 10177(d)(g)

LICENSES REVOKED

WITH A RIGHT TO A RESTRICTED LICENSE

FEffective Violation Business and Professions
Name Address ate Code’Commissioner’s Regulations
Torok, Sebastian (REB) ................ 12300 W. Washington Blvd., Culver City 12/21/77  10176(a)(i)
(Right to RREB license after 90 days on terms and conditions)
Brown, Albert A. (REB) (REQ) ......... 1086-3 Calle De Las Estrellas, Azusa ... 1/ 6/78 490, 10177(b)
Dba—Flamingo Land Co.
(Right to RREB license after 120 days on terms and conditions)
Allen, Gary Knowles (RES)...... 5010 Marconi Ave., Carmichael ....... 1/10/78 490, 10177(a)(b)
(Right to RRES license on terms and conditions)
Penny, Donna Lynne (RES) ............ 2 Eucalypts Ln., Rolling Hills . ... .... 11/ 490, 10177(b)
(Right to RRES license after 60 days on terms and conditions)
Qualkenbush, Orville Paul (REB)........ 112 W. Bennett, Ste. 8, Glendora ...... 1/ 3/78 10177.5
Dba--Jan Realty
(Right to RREB licensc after 30 days on terms and conditions)
Pyle, William Waync (REB)............, 6348 Magnolia Ave., Ste. 21, Riverside . 1/ 3/78 10177.5

Dba—Mutual Realty
(Right to RREB license after 30 days on terms and conditions)
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LICENSES REVOKED WITH A RIGHT TO A RESTRICTED LICENSE

Effective Violation Business and Professions
Name Address date Code/Commissioner’s Regulations
O'Donnell, Boyd James (REB) .......... 301 W. Lexington Dr., Glendale ....... o 1/12/78 490, 10177(b)
Dba —Regent Realtors
(Right to RREB license on terms and conditions)
Smith, Darron Rene (RES) oovvvviiiinnn 7 Alvarado, #252, Davis ...vovvnnnnn 1/12/78 490, 10177(b)
(Right to RRES license on terms and conditions)
Toman, Warren (RES) ....ovvvvviiiiinn 22321 3rd Ave,, S. Laguna 1/17/78 490, 10177(b)
(Right to RRES license on terms and conditions)
Hanson, Robert Dennis (RES) ... «« 929 W. Covina Pky. West, W. Covina . 1/19/78 490, 10177(b)
(Right to RRES license on terms and condlllons)
Hulse, Charles James (RES) ............ 6855 Western Ave., Ste. P, Buena Park. 1/19/78 490, 10177(a}b)X )
(Right to RRES license after 30 days on terms and conditions)
Rich, Robert Paul (RES) . ccvivvesoosas 20 W. Carrillo St., Santa Barbara..... 1/19/78 490, 10177(b)
(Right to RRES license on terms and conditions)
Poe, William Joseph Sr. (REB).......... 40849 Fremont Blvd., Fremont ........ 1/23/78 490, 10177(b)( )
(Right to RRES license after 60 days on terms and conditions)
Callahan, Carl Charles (REB) (REQ)..... 4631 Collwood Ln., San Diego ........ 1/31/78 10176(a)(i), 10177(g)
Officer—Results Realty of San Diego, Inc.
(Right to RREB license on terms and conditions)
Results Realty of San Deigo, Inc. (REC) . 4631 Collwood Ln., San Diego ........ 1/31/78 10176(a)(i), 10177(g)
(Right to RREB license on terms and conditions)
Sexton, Betty Jean (REB) i vovvavovivins 465°E. Chase, El Cojon.v:ovvvasssns 2/ 2/78 490, 10177(b)
(Right to RREB license on terms and condmoua)
Topolnak, John (REB) ........... .. 7920 Orﬂlgclhorpc Ave., Buena Park .. 2/15/78 490, 10177(b)
(Right to RREB license after 60 dnys on terms and conditions)
Horne, Robert Henri (RES)............. 3423 Gauntlet Dr., W. Covina......... 2/16/78 490, 10177(b)
(Riglu to RRES license on terms and conditions)
Kelly, Daniel Patrick (RES)............. 18120 Brookhurst St., #51, ............ 2/23/78 490, 10177(b)
(Right to RRES license after 60 days on terms and conditions) n Vulley
Fisher, Franklin Peter (REB) (REO) ..... 566 Washington St., Marina DL] Rey... 3/ 1/78 490, 10177(b)
Officer—P F C Investments, Inc.
(Right to RREB license on terms and conditions)
National Rental Services, Inc. (REC)..... 4352 Broadway, Oakland ............. 3 1478 2731, 2740, 2852.1, 10130, 10143,
(Right to RREB license after 90 days on terms and conditions) 10148, 10177(d)(f)
Liu, Tommy Jr. (REB) (REO)........... 4352 Broadway, Oakland ............. 3/ 4y 2731, 2740, 2852.1, 10130, 10143,
Officer—National Rental Services, Inc. 10148, 10177(d)(D
(Right to RREB license after 90 days on terms and conditions)
LICENSES SUSPENDED
Effecuve Violation Business and Professions
Name Address date “ode/Commissioner's Regulations
McArthur, Jeffrey Scott (RES) .......... P.O. Box 396, 4101 Mother Lode Dr.,.. 1/17/78 10177(g)
Shingle Springs 10 days
Ronzone, Joseph David (REB) (REQO).... P.O. Box 396, 4101 Mother Lode Dr.,.. lf!'.ff';‘E 10177(d)(g), 2725
Dba—Westland Realty Shingle Springs 5 days
Hayes, John Beatty (RES) ,...c...00v00e P.O. Box 546, 8700 River Rd., Forestville  1/19/78 10177(g)
30 days
Sitron, Irwin Raymond (REB) (REO) .... 1636 West 8th St., Ste. 101, Los Angeles U}I,’!:'IB 10176(1)
Dba—Beacon Mortgage Co. 90 Days

Dba—Aztee Financial Services

LICENSES SUSPENDED WITH STAYS

Effective Violation Business and Professions
Name Address date Code/Commissioner's Regulations
Schaeler, Gerald Albert (REB) .......... 1399 Florin Rd., Sacramento.......... 1/ 9/17 10176(a)i)
(All but 30 days stayed for | year on condition) 60 days
Flynn, Richard Herbert (REB) .......... P.O. Box 782, 20 Main St., Sutter Creek 1/17/78 10145, 10177(d), 2832
(All but 5 days stayed for 1 year on conditions) 30 days
Ross, Allan Efrem (REB) «e++ 4721 Laurel Canyon Blvd., Ste. 103, 2/ B/78 10177(d), 11010, 11018.2
(All but 30 days stayed for 1 yea n condition) N. Hollywood ................. 90 days
Witkower, Leonard Joseph (RES) ....... 8820 Wonderland Park Ave., Los Angeles  2/8/78 10177(d), 11010, 11018.2
(Al but 15 days stayed for 1 year on condition) 90 days
Ayies; DERad fREBY i 4239 E. Fountain Way, Fresno ........ 2/14/78 10177(g)
(All but 15 days stayed for 2 years on condition) 90 days
Garland, John Michacl (REB) ........... 3516 Highland Ave., Manhattan Beach . 2/15/78 10176(a)(1)
Dba—Century 21 Pacific Propertics 180 days
(All but 30 days stayed for | year on terms and conditions)
Folberg, Harry (REB) ..o vveuinennnn... 3400 El Camino Real, Santa Clara ... .. 2/21/78 10176(a), 10177(j)
(All but 15 days stayed for | year on terms and conditions) 60 days
Jones, Robert Hamilton (REB) (REO) ... 2225 Grant Rd., Los Altos ............ 2/21/78 10176(a), 10177()
(All but 15 days stayed for | year on terms and conditions) 60 days

INDEFINITE SUSPENSIONS UNDER RECOVERY FUND PROVISIONS

Name Address Date
Mason, Leroy Bernard (REB) ........... 18036 Lamson Rd., Castro Valley...... 3/ 3/78
'S)‘(ncom Management Company, Inc...... 16161 Ventura Blvd., Ste. 225, Encino . . 3/ 378
Boyle, Malcolm Joseph (REB)........... 3145 Geary Blvd., San Francisco....... 3/10/78
Hagen, Leon (REB) .y ovviwivnns . P.O. Box 893, Magnolia...... 3/23/78
Gulley, James Lawrance (REB) 3651 40th St,, Sacramento 3/30/78

Continuing Education

(Continued from Page 1)

Q. How can I find out what courses have been
approved for real estate license renewal under the
continuing education statutes?

A, The Commissioner will evaluate and approve or
disapprove a sponsor’s seminar, conference, or course on
its individual merit. Such an offering must be a
reasonable application of current law, procedures, or
practice in the ficld of real estate that will provide a basis
for a high level of consumer protection and service.
Naturally, approved seminars and courses will be
advertised in that fashion. Part of the approval process
calls for the offering entity to give the attendee a coded
form as evidence for later submission to the Department.

Q. If Ishould take one or more of the courses required
for the broker license, would that satisly the license
renewal requirements for either sales or broker license
rencwal?

A. No. The regulations provu:le that courses required
for licensure will not satisfy I.he continuing education
requirement.

Q. What Real Estate Commissioner’s Regulations
apply to the continuing education program?

A.  Article 25, Sections 3005-3013. The primary thrust
of these regulations deals with the means by which an
offering entity can qualify a course. Regulations will be
printed in the next edition of the Real Estate Law
published by the Department, and supplements to the
current cdition are available over the counter at any
office of the Department.

Q. If I do not complete my real estate license renewal
continuing education requirement in accordance with
real estate law by the time my license ex pires, what must 1
do to renew my license?

A. If, for instance, you submitted a seminar which had
not been approved by the Department to make up your
total of 45 clock hours, your license may be extended for
a maximum of 90 days for you to meet the requirements
of real estate continuing education (Section 10171.2,
Business and Professions Code). Of course, this issue
would not arise under ordinary circumstances and, in any
event, deals with renewals beginning January 1, 1981,

Q. Are there any exemptions or equivalent activities
which would qualify me for renewal of my license without
taking continuing education courses?

A. Yes, as contained in Regulation 3011, the
Commissioner may consider equivalent education
activitics such as instruction in approved real estate
continuing education programs or authorship of
published books on current real cstate practices. As
contained in Regulation 3012, an exemption may be
granted by the Commissioner for bona fide health
reasons or other compelling cause beyond the control of
the renewal applicant. Again, the question of whether or
not such an exemption could be considered would deal
with renewals on and after January 1, 1981.

Q. Canltakea Commissioner approved seminar which
only lasts six hours and use those six hours as part of the
45 clock hours requirement?

A. Yes. The least amount of time credited toward the 45
clock hours is a three-hour seminar. For example: a mix
of approved seminars or courses completed over a four
year period preceding license renewal is acceptable, as
long as the clock hours add up to at least 45.

Q. When I finish a Commissioner approved continuing
education seminar or course, may 1 send the certificate of
attendance to the Department of Real Estate for
retention?

A, No. Over 60,000 licenses are renewed each year. The
Department could not store each successive certificate of
attendance for up to four years pending license renewal.

Q. When is the carlicst time that 1 can send in my
application for renewal with evidence of meeting the’
continuing education requirements?

A. The Department of Real Estate accepts the renewal
application within 60 days before license renewal. The
policy will continue. Of course, the evidence will not be
required until 1981 or after.

(Continued on Page 8)
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| DISCIPI.INARY
ACTIONS

_BR_O_l_(_ER RISKS GOOD REPUTATION

A salesperson in the employ of broker, in
expectation of earning a commission,
prepared a deposit receipt wherein a
purchaser offered to purchase a residence
listed with employing broker for a total
purchase price of $18,000, contingent upon:
e buyer obtaining a maximum FHA loan on

203B conditions; and

e buyer paying no more than $750 cash,
including a $100 deposit on the purchase
price, for down payment and closing costs.

The deposit receipt falsely stated that buyer
had made a $100 deposit on the purchase
price in the form of a promissory note, but
seller, without knowledge of this falsity,
accepted the buyer's offer as contained in the
deposit receipt. Subsequently the purchase
price for the property was reduced to $17,500
by mutual consent of the buyer and seller.

For purpose of closing the sale to buyer,
broker and salesperson caused an escrow to
be opened at a title company and salesperson
caused buyer to apply to a lender for a loan
for $17,250 and to FHA for a firm
commitment to insure the loan, which loan
was to be secured by a trust deed on the
subject real property.

Salesperson knew that buyer did not have
and did not intend to expend any of the
buyer’'s own funds for the purpose of
acquiring title to this property, yet licensee
influenced purchaser to enter into and
continue with the purchase, loan application,
and FHA insurance commitment.

Salesperson knew that buyer had
represented to lender and FHA that buyer
would pay buyer’s closing costs from buyer’s
own funds and would occupy the property.
Salesperson knew that these representations
were false and failed to notify lender and
FHA of these misrepresentations, thus
concealing the true facts from lender and
FHA.

Broker’s office loaned buyer sufficient
funds to pay buyer’s closing costs, concealing
this from the lender and FHA, after having
negligently caused to be delivered to the
escrow a letter which certified that buyer had
given broker $750 in cash as a deposit to
complete the purchase and that said $750 had
been deposited into broker’s trustee bank
account. (This representation was false and
untruc but broker did not know it was false
and untrue until a time immediately
subsequent thereto, at which time broker
notified escrow holder.)

Prior to close of escrow, broker, through
salesperson, caused to be deliverd to escrow a
“broker’s demand” wherein broker instructed
escrow to deduct from broker’s commission
the amount of money needed to pay buyer’s
closing costs. Thus, broker's demand did
negligently represent that broker would
withhold from buyer’s deposit on the

property (which broker earlicr represented
was being held in broker’s trust account) any
and all funds advanced from broker’s
commission to pay buyer’s closing costs.

Salesperson caused- buyer to sign the
required Mortgagor’s Certification, which
certified to false statements. Relying upon the
false representations, lender and FHA
approved a $17,250 loan and commitment to
insure. If the true facts had been disclosed
lender and FHA would not have funded and
insured this loan, which loan enabled title to
be conveyed to buyer.

Because of broker’s proven negligence and
failure to supervise salesperson’s activities in
this transaction, broker’s license was
suspended for thirty days pursuant to
provisions of the B & P Code Sections
10177(g) and (h), no other complaint having
been filed against licensee in approximately
20 years as a licensec. Salesperson’s license
was revoked pursuant to each and all of the B
& P Code Sections 10176(a) & (i) and 10177(f)

& (j).

FRAUDULENT CONDUCT

Licensee brokers were husband and wife,
As principals they entered into a contract to
sell certain residential real property they
owned to purchasers for a purchase price of
approximately $26,600. The purchase
contract called for a $1,000 down payment,
assumption by buyers of the existing first
trust deed loan on the property of
approximately $22,600, with the balance of
purchase price to be in the form of a junior
purchase money note and trust deed executed
by buyers to sellers for approximately $3,000.

Ten days after entering into this contract to
sell, licensees executed a note and second trust
deed against said real property as security for
a $2,500 loan made to licensees by a corporate
lender, all without knowledge or consent of
purchasers. The corporate lender promptly
recorded its second trust deed.

The day after they executed the $2,500 note
and trust deed, licensees caused to be opened
an escrow to consummate the sale of the real
property to purchasers on the original
purchase terms. Licensces induced purchasers
to waive the requirement of title insurance.

About 30 days later, licensees negotiated
the sale of the not yet existent $3,000
promissory note (to be executed priorto close
of escrow by purchasers) to another party for
a purchase price of $3,000. Licensees
represented this trust deed as being a second
trust deed, subject only to a first trust deed
securing a loan with an unpaid principal
balance of approximately $22,600. Licensees
induced the purchasers/assignees of the then
non-existent note to waive the obtaining of a
policy of title insurance insuring their interest
and willfully failed to reveal to assignees the
existence of the $2,500 note and trust deed
against the property.

Approximately 60 days thereafter,
purchasers executed the purchase money note
and trust deed securing it to the sellers for
$3,176, and the escrow for the sale/purchase
of the residence closed. At no time prior to the

(Continued on Page 6)

Summer 1978

Tk;e Commlssmner has been dwged thm '
some licensees may not he aw
furnishing of this information by property

‘owners, when rcqucsted is mandatory under

the above mentioned law Section. Another
law section, requires assessors to keep such
information confidential.

Licensees are requcsted to adwse lhetr
principals and clients of the foregoing when
they make inquiry gbout this matter. m

According to U.S. Department of
Commerce statistics (Business of the Census)
in February 1978, privately owned housing
units were started at an estimated seasonably
adjusted annual rate of 1,580,000, This is 109
below the rate of 1,751,000 for February 1977,
but about the same as the revised annual rate
of 1,547,000 for January 1978.

ZERO COUNT

especially when it refers to the number of accidents suffered
statewide by DRE employees in 1977, Accepting Governor’s
Safety Award for DRE as a “Zero Frequency Award Winner”

is William A. Wiggins, Assistant Commissioner
Administration. The presenter is Robert E. Denison.
Governor's Safety and Rehabilitation Program Manager.—

Photo by Linda Hidley
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Commissioner David H. Fox and approximately 1,200
Realtors listen while Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr.
addresses the CAR Convention in Sacramento, March 29th.
The Governor's remarks mainly concerned the real property
tax controversy.—Photo by Linda Hidley

RECENT PROCEDURAL
EXAMINATION CHANGES

In order to better assure the integrity and
security of the DRE examination for
licensing, positive identification will be
required from each examinee at the
examination site prior to being admitted into
the exam room. If the examinee cannot
resent an acceptable form of identification
o the proctor, such as a California driver’s
license; a military, federal or state
identification; or an official passport, then the
examinee will be required to submit to the
taking of a complete set of fingerprints prior
to leaving the examination room.

After completing the examination and just
before leaving the exam room, upon
submission of the examination answer sheet
to the proctor, each examinee will further
identify his or her own answer sheet by
affixing thereto the examinee’s own
thumbprint, by using the special print tab
affixed to each examination sheet by the
DRE.

Examinees will be allowed to use slide rules
or silent, battery-operated, pocket-sized,
electronic calculators which are
nonprogrammable and which do not have a
printout capability. Examinees must furnish
their own slide rule or calculator, if they wish
to use them. ~HRE

In Memoriam

Dudley Dean Watson, 82, former Real
Estate Commissioner, appointed by
Governor Earl Warren in 1948 and served
until 1957. “D. D.” was a native of San
Francisco, past president of CAR and past
vice-president of NAR for the Western
States.

SOLAR (Continued from Page 1)

b,

F.

3. The Franchise Tax Board is in the process of deciding whether apartment and
condominium owners whose total purchase-plus-installation costs exceed $6,000 may
claim a 55% tax credit for each unit if each unit has its own separate solar energy system,

4. In each case where the support structure of the solar energy-system also serves another
main function, 50% of the costs for that component is eligible for the credit, except as
otherwise defined in the Energy Commission’s solar energy tax credit guidelines. An
example of this situation is a rock bed thermal storage unit which has two of its side walls
also serving as the building foundation.

5. Any federal solar income tax credit would be substituted for an equivalent amount of the
available California credit. That is, the combined federal and state credits cannot exceed
that allowed by the state. The federal credit would be used first.

Allowable Systems

Eligible solar energy systems include indirect thermal (active) systems and direct thermal
(passive) systems, providing that each system meets existing building codes and carries the
minimum warranties (as defined below). Some active systems are: forced air systems, forced
circulation water heating systems, radiant systems, solar assisted absorption cooling
systems, and solar assisted heat pump systems. Passive system features include: solar
glazing and shading, solariums, thermal ponds, and thermal mass construction. Eligible
passive features and active systems are described in detail in the Energy Commission’s tax
credit guidelines.

Warranty Requirement

After April 1, 1978, these warranty requirements must be met by solar systems to be
cligible for the tax credit:

I Solar Equipment Manufacturers. The solar collector, storage unit, and heat exchanger
must be guaranteed to be free from defects in materials or workmanship for at least three
years.

2. Installers. The solar system, any component, or assembly must be guaranteed against
defects in workmanship, materials, or installation for at least one year after date of
installation completion.

Conservation Measures
Certain cnergy conservation measures must be installed in conjunction with solar energy

systems eligible for the tax credit:

l. Space Conditioning Systems require certain extra insulation and weatherstripping
measures, as specified in the tax credit guidelines.

2. Domestic Water Heating requires insulation of storage tank and low-flow devices on
hot-water outlets.

Further Information
The Energy Commission solar tax credit guidelines also specify:

1. Other eligible conservation measures.

2. Eligible solar applications for hot tubs and swimming pools.
3. Requirements for other cligible solar applications.

Copies of the guidelines and criteria for the solar tax credit may be obtained by contacting the
Energy Resources Conservation and Development Commission, Publications Office, 1111 Howe
Avenue, Sacramento, California 95825. Form 3805L for claiming the credit may be obtained
from the Franchise Tax Board, Sacramento, California 95867,

Government Assistance

The State Business and Transportation Agency has set up a special office to serve as a one-stop
information and assistance point for homebuilders planning to install solar equipment, especially
solar water heaters, in their new residential units. The “builders hot-line” is (916) 445-5185, and
the following services are available to builders:

Technical and design assistance

Assistance with local government requirements
Detailed information on the solar tax credit
Consumer education and protection programs.

The California Energy Commission is available to the general public to provide information
and assistance on all solar energy-related matters. The Commission’s Solar Office at 1111 Howe
Avenue, Sacramento 95825, will, upon request, indicate whether a particular solar system
technically conforms to their solar tax credit guidelines. The Commission’s toll-free number is
(800) 852-7516.

1978 QUARTERLY EXAM RESULTS

¢ Took Passed Took Passed
January 10,576 4,415 1,039 500
February 6,885 2,957 1,055 489
March 8,474 3,538 1,055 544
TOTAL 25,935 10,910 3,149 1,533
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. Results of Telephone
SUBDIVISIONS Surveys of DRE Offices

o s ¥ . N istrict Office recently ¢ sted

In the fall 1977 edition of the Bullerin an article entitled What Should Ageni Do? . ',23:0 ”:,”g;’l‘:“:,ﬂf“:_z i ”.f')ifﬁ‘;’n;“f}:‘{’s ’?m,;_;’"""’,i‘;;‘ =
discussed the applicability Pf certain pr9v1$1pn§ of the S\,}b'leLSIOll Law and i DRE determine, ameng other things, the daily volume of
regulations to a person acquiring two or more units ina condominium development with the incoming telephone cails handled by the reception desk
intent of selling or leasing the units, and the Consumer Serviee Deputies. Results are:

The article was correct in pointing out that a condominium project of two or more units is Total Daily
a subdivision by definition under California law. The article is incomplete or incorrect Received Average
however in certain respects, F!rst. 1t suggests that the Subdivision Law apphcs‘u_i the case of T ———

a person who acquires two units with the intent to sell only one whereas the position of DRE handled by reception

is that a person acquiring more than one unit must have the intent to sell or lease (for a term desk:staffc: wosnnn v 3,109 622
of one year or more) at least two units in order to be subject to the Subdivision Law. Inquiries referred 1o

Secondly, the article fails to specify that the Subdivision Law is applicable to a person Consumer Services

owning more than one condominium unit only if two or more of the units were acquired for Depudies ... 1,464 293
the purpose of resale or lease from the original subdivider or from a person who succeeded -’nqw’m;a" Tejeired dbrt

to the interest of the original subdivider, e.g., by purchase, gift, foreclosure, inheritance, etc. ’l‘; é’;';‘;:g ;;‘\’:;'z)f:(

Sectiort gSOI.ﬁ of the regulations of t,h? Commissioner was recently aqquded to clarify the Audits, Regulatory, etc.) 636 127
DRE position with respect to condominiums and to conventional subdivisions and planned Total  5.200 1,042
developments as well, e 5 ¢ ) o .

In the case of a conventional subdivision or planned development, a person must obtaina HA'i”ﬂ‘ 5:'"::' f(f;?’;’(f:ﬂ'lﬁ;;'t’:';:ﬁi E;;’::H;l ?r:;?: z::rfvf:!lo

. 2 vl it ! P Al eadquarters Office w. g eting iis q 2,
public report or an:lended public repot:; tosell or Iease ﬁ‘.’e L l'qu'§ IOt_S :f_at. any pom_l l.n e conducted by the telephone company at the request of the
that person owns five or more lots which he or she acquired from_tlze original subdivider or DRE, to determine the volume of telephone calls piaced
from a person who succeeded to the interest of the original subdivider in five or more lots. by the public and real estate licensees to the licensing

P . : , IELIgEaRIELY . ;

section in Sacramento. The survey covered
approximately six months.
It was determined that 85 of the busy signals received

H IGH CONSTR U CTI ON RATE by callers occurred between the hours of 10:00 a.m. and

12 noon, and between 3:00 p.m. and 4:00 p.m., while only
IN NEW SUBD'V'S'ONS 1% of the busy signals occurred between 8:00 a.m. and

9:00 a.m., and between 1:00 p.m. and 2:00 p.m. From
this, it is apparent that 1o reach the licensing section with

During the first nine months of the 1977- cooperatives. a minimum of delay it is best 10 place the call before 9:00
1978 fiscal year, the Department issued This is in contrast to the late 1960s and a.m. or between 1:00 p.m. and 2:00 p.m.
Subdivision Public Reports qualifying early 1970s when public reports were issued For assistance in calling, the following telephane
approximately 12,527 lots/units per month on nearly as many vacant lots as on lots with ‘(’Jj;[’f’”’s"‘,tf:;";"ff"““f‘““' Jor Sacramento Headquariers
for sale to the public. construetion. The Department has averaged s aiens

Of a total of 112,745 lots/units, only 15% receiving 393 new subdivision filings per Original license issuance (916) 445-5971
were vacant lots. The balance contained month during the first nine months of this Real S roken T
construction of all types such as single-family ~ same fiscal year for a total of 3,540 new Eif‘(':::;jfﬁ‘r;:ﬁ:”;:_m,m,mg rmj 2456387
dwellings, planned developments with filings. This number of new filings will Corporation ficensing (916) 322-6460
townhouse-type structures, condominiums, represent 130,601 additional new lots/units Licensing expiration (916) 445-5741.
community apartment houses, and stock when the public reports are issued. -m-

Disciph'na ry (Continued from Page 4)

closing of the escrow did licensees-sellers
inform purchasers of the real property that
the property had been further encumbered by
licensees in the sum of $2,500.

Had either the purchasers of the real
property or the purchasers/assignees of the
$3,176 promissory note executed by
purchasers been aware of the existence of the
$2,500 note and trust deed, they would not
have consummated their respective
transactions.

Having received no payments on its $2,500
loan to licensees, the corporate lender
subsequently recorded a Notice of Default
and Election to Sell. To avoid a forced sale,
purchasers sold the property and paid off the
first, second and third trust deed liens, plus
expenses of sale, all possible only because the
“property had appreciated considerably in the
intervening months.

Grounds existed for disciplinary action
against the licenses of the brokers under
Section 10177(j) of the Business and
Professions Code. Licenses were revoked,

Seated, left to right, af table at the March 215t open hearings in Los Angeles on Commissioner’s proposed Code of Ethics, are DRE

representatives: W, Jerome Thomas, Chief Legal Officer; John E. Hempel, Assistant Comissioner, Policy and Planning Division;

inwed on Page 7.
Commissioner David H. Fox; and Martin F. Dingman, Staff Counsel. — Photo by Gary Skow (Continue ige 7)



Butte College is the setting for this DRE spansored Consumer Clinic. These clinics are coordinated statewide by the community and
junior colleges participating in the Consumer Clinics Program. The successful pilot programs were held in Sacramento and
Inglewood. The clinic sessions which followed were well received. Those six hour programs cover such consumer needs as: renting,
fair housing problems, buying homes and land, and simple home maintenance. Seated from left o right are Carl Donica, Real
Estate Broker; Tom Edgar, Attorney; Don Brown, Butte College Coordinator; Ron Russell, Building Inspector; Thomas Hensley,

Department of Real Estate.

Disciplinary

(Continued from Page 6)

BEFORE HEARING
SUSPENSION JUSTIFIED

As a result of a formal DRE administrative
hearing, a real estate salesperson’s license was
revoked with the right to receive a restricted
real estate salesperson’s license 60 days after
the effective date of the order of revocation,
pursuant to Business and Professions Code
Section 10156.5. Subsequently, said restricted
license was issued subject to the provisions of
Section 10156.7 and the limitations,
conditions, and restrictions of Section
10156.6 of the Code.

Approximately six months after receiving
the restricted license referred to above, this
licensee prepared and presented to sellers an
offer from buyers to purchase sellers’
residential property. Buyers’ offer was
presented in the form of a Deposit Receipt
which contained a representation that
licensee had received from buyers a personal
check in the amount of $500 as a deposit on
account of the purchase price of the real
property.

This representation by licensee was false
and known by licensee to be false when made,
with the intention that seller would rely
thereon and accept buyer’s offer. The true
facts were that licensee had agreed to and did
accept from buyers as a deposit on account of
the purchase price of the property a
promissory note for $500 payable to licensee’s

broker at the close of an escrow covering the
sale of a residence then owned by the buyers.

Licensee, through the representation in the
Deposit Receipt and also by licensee’s silence
as to the true facts concerning the nature of
the deposit by buyers, induced sellers to sell
the property to buyers according to the terms
of the offer, with minor modifications. At no
time did licensee present buyers’ promissory
note for $500 to sellers for specific approval of
the substitute deposit. Ultimately the sale to
buyers was consummated in a timely fashion
and all funds properly disbursed.

Pending the hearing on the Accusation
filed against licensee, licensee’s restricted
license was suspended pending a final
determination to be made after the hearing on
the Accusation. Following the hearing, at
which cause for disciplinary action against the
restricted real estate salesperson license was
established under Sections 10176(a) and
10176(i) of the Business and Professions
Code, the salesperson’s restricted license was

ded for 220 days. s
suspended for ays SRE

~/ _

orty page supplement to 1977 Real Estate Law
Book is now available at no charge. Contains
pertinent real estate law and regulation changes for
1977. Available from any office of the DRE, or by
mailing a sell-addressed, stamped, return envelope
size 6" by 9", bearing $.41 first class postage to
Department of Real Estate, 714 P St., Sacramento,
CA 95814, ATTENTION: LAW SUPPLEMENT.

R (

by Senior Deputy
Larry Smith

Many real estate brokers do not work
independently but work for other real estate
brokers. These brokers are commonly
referred to as broker/salespersons because
they conduct business like a licensed real
estate salesperson except they hold a broker
license.

Even though similar to a salesperson this
broker/salesperson arrangement is not
recognized when it comes to licensing records.
A broker/salesperson still has broker status
for licensing purposes and licensing record
changes; such as, addition of any new
business addresses which should be submitted
on appropriate broker forms, not salesperson
forms. A broker/salesperson does not
transfer a license as does a salesperson; the
broker merely changes business addresses. A
salesperson must obtain- the employing
broker’s signature, while a broker/sales-
person does not.

A broker/salesperson must initiate his or
her own requests, over his or her own
signature, concerning the license record and
not rely on the broker “employer” or anyone
else to do it.

What is a Dba? These initials mean “doing
business as” and refer to someone operating a
business under a fictitious name. Many real
estate brokers prefer to operate in such a
manner rather than use their own name when
conducting business. This is quite
permissible, providing appropriate filings
have been made with the County Clerk’s
Office and with the DRE. Unless these filings
have been made and a broker license issued
bearing the fictitious name, a broker cannot
use such a name in the conduct of business.

A fictitious business name is any name that
does not include the surname of the individual
or that suggests existence of additional
owners, such as inclusions of “company,”
“sons,” “associates,” “brothers,” and the like,
but not words that merely describe the
business being conducted. In the case of a
corporation, a fictitious name would be any
name other than the corporate name as stated
in the Articles of Incorporation. In the case of
a partnership, a fictitious name would exist if
all the surnames of the partners were not
included or if the name included a word
suggesting the existence of additional owners.

The Department finds that many brokers
make proper filings for fictitious business
names with the County Clerk, but do not
follow through by filing with the DRE to
obtain a license bearing the name. It is a.
violation of the Real Estate Law to conduct
business under a fictitious name without filing
with the DRE. (Regulation 2731.)

An instruction form is available upon
request outlining the procedure to obtain a
fictitious business name.



Official Publication
CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF REAL ESTATE
714 P Street
Sacramento, California 95814

Second-Class Postage
paid at
Sacramento, California

“AS IS 227

How is a seller of real property which has
real physical deficiencies, or the seller’s real
estate agent, to be sure what this troublesome
term means when they insert in a listing
contract or deposit receipt a clause such as
“property sold in its present ‘as is’ condition”?

Whatever the term eventually proves to
mean, on a case by case determination, it is
most unlikely it will translate into cavear
emptor—Ilet the buyer beware!

A purchaser inspecting an improved real
property, such as a residence, is certainly
expected to have information about the

Frank Ryan, DRE Sacramento United Way Chairperson,
presenting a Silver Award to Commissioner Fox, This award
by the United California State Employees Campaign, United
Way Sacramento, acknowledges the DRE's expressed
concern for the needs of the many United Way agencies. This
year the Sacramento DRE employees had a 201% increase in
contributions with $5.7% of employees participating. Frank
Ryan received an Individual Award of Excellence from
United Way for his personal efforts in assisting the DRE
employees to greatly surpass their original goal and achieve
this outstanding performance.—Photo by Linda Hidley

property which a reasonable inspection
would disclose. But, how about those hidden
structural imperfections known only to seller
and/or seller’s agent which are not disclosed
to the purchaser, such as;

e an owner-built den, constructed without
a permit and not according to code

® a roof that leaks but looks like new

® recurring plumbing problems?

A seller has an affirmative duty to disclose
to the buyer the known invisible problems in
the improvements. The agent who is aware of
the physical deficiencies must disclose them to
a purchaser. It has been held that a purchaser
has a right to rely upon the statements of a
broker and a seller, without making an
independent investigation.

To be of any force or effect an “as is” or
similar provision in a contract should refer to
the particular features of the property that
have been made known to the purchaser. An
example of a legally effective clause would be
a statement that buyer has personally
inspected the property and is aware that the
residence has a roof which leaks and will need
to be repaired or replaced. If the roof defect
was not obvious and buyer did not know it
was defective, a general “as is” clause is
probably worthless.

Fraud includes knowingly suppressing or
concealing facts which should be disclosed.
Section 10101 of the Business and Professions
Code now. provides, in part, that the
accusation against a licensee provided for by
Section 11503 of the Government Code shall
be filed within one year after date of discovery
by the aggrieved party of the fraud,
misrepresentation or false promise or within
three years after the occurrence thereof,
whichever is later.

The improper or incomplete use of an “as
is” clause by an agent may insure a future
lawsuit for the transaction parties.

Caveat licensee!

Continuing Education
(Continued from Page 3)

Q. Do you anticipate courses or seminars being taken
by licensees in other institutions outside of California?

A. Yes. However, before the department can accept
such certificate of attendance, the school, firm or entity
would have to have received Commissioner’s approval.

Q. How does a person, firm, or other entity get
approval to offer a Real Estate Commissioner approved
continuing education course?

A. The offering entity completes an application for
approval, furnished by the Department of Real Estate,
and pays a fee of $150. Once the Commissioner has
examined the merit of the course or seminar (for
reasonable currency of knowledge and level of consumer
protection, etc.), the Commissioner will grant or deny a
certificate of approval to give the offering for real estate
continuing education credit. Incidentally, the offering
entity is required to file for approval at least 90 days
before offering the course or seminar.

Q. I have been told that the only courses you will
approve are those dealing with up-to-date information. Is
that true?

A. Yes. The law requires that the Commissioner's
standards assure reasonable currency of knowledge as a
basis for a level of real estate practice which will provide a
high level of consumer protection service.

Q. Willa course I took in Real Estate Tax Law in 1977
for three semester hour credit apply to my continuing
education requirement?

A. No, because no continuing education courses were
approved by the DRE prior to January 1978. The law is
not retroactive and only those courses approved by the
Commissioner can apply.

Q. Do I have to take 45 clock hours of continuing
education during each four years before 1 rencw my
license?

A. Yes. Completion of Commissioner approved
continuing education is required for every four-year
period prior to renewal of your license,

If you have any further questions that the above
information does not answer, please do not hesitate to
contact us.

The Department of Real Estate
Continuing Education Unit
4433 Florin Road, Suite 200
Sacramento, CA 95823



